Business Directory > Chapman Historical Museum

Chapman Historical Museum


348 Glen Street
Glens Falls, NY 12801
(518) 793-2826
www.chapmanmuseum.org

“Remembering the History of Glens Falls, Queensbury & the Southern Adirondacks”

At the Chapman Historical Museum, enjoy guided tours of the 19th Century DeLong House, changing exhibition gallery, family programs, hands-on activities for kids, artifacts and archival materials, research center, and museum gift shop.



Museum Exhibits 2017:

Changing exhibitions depict the history of the Glens Falls, Queensbury, and Southern Adirondack Region including:

  • “The DeLong House” – Take a guided or self-guided tour of this historic house to discover how home life has changed (technologically and in decor) over the past century. Permanent Exhibit.
  • “By Stage to Lake George” – Featured will be images of the stage coach trip that visitors in the 1870s experienced from the train station in Glens Falls to the Fort William Henry Hotel at the south end of Lake George. In addition to the Halfway House, highlights include the tollhouse in French Mountain, Bloody Pond, Col. Ephraim Williams’ monument, and the grounds of the hotel. On exhibit through Septemeber 3, 2017.
  • “Water & Light: S.R. Stoddard’s Photos of Lake George” – Seneca Ray Stoddard (1844-1917) is well known for his photographs of the Adirondack Mountains.This exhibit features forty six images of Lake George, selected from more than 700, that best capture Stoddard’s mastery of the interplay of water and light. They range the length of the lake from the Fort William Henry Hotel to the south through the picturesque islands of The Narrows to Rogers Rock in the north.  Included are many landmarks — Pearl Point, Black Mountain, French Point, Recluse Island, Sabbath Day Point, and Hulett’s Landing, to name a few. On Dispaly May 11 through October 1, 2017.

Museum Shop:

The Shop at the Chapman carries a complete selection of unique local history & regional books, prints, and affordable gifts. Online shop available.


Museum Hours:

Open year-round Tuesday thru Saturday 10am to 4pm, and Sunday Noon to 4pm.  Admission: donation appreciated.

  • Lake George Guide
    P.O. Box 148, Lake George, NY 12845 :: Phone (518) 668-4887
    © 2017 Lake George Guide, All Rights Reserved. This Guide, including the individual and collective advertisements, articles, photographs, and other materials contained herein, are the sole and exclusive property of the Lake George Guide, and may not be reproduced in whole or in part without the express written consent of the Lake George Guide. The copyright for this Guide is registered with the U.S. Copyright Office. The Lake George Guide and its participating businesses are not responsible or liable for any typographical errors, omissions, or unannounced changes in information.
    Lake George aerial photography provided by © Carl E. Heilman II / Wild Visions, Inc., All rights reserved.